LoginRegister now

Kind Attention:

  1. Kindly note 28th ICMS Pune will be held in person (offline) only.
  2. In no event it will be cancelled.
  3. If there is any change in schedule due to the pandemic it will be communicated only by the end of September or first week of October 2021.
    (In the past too, ICMS has been at times held at a gap of 3 to 4 years and sometimes has been held on consecutive years)

About Us


The first Indian Colloquium on Micropalaeontology & Stratigraphy (ICMS) was organised by Dr. S. Sambe Gowda at Bangalore to commemorate the 75th birth anniversary of Late Prof. L. Rama Rao. The results of the colloquium were so encouraging and inspiring that the entrepreneurs on this subject organized similar colloquium periodically. The ICMS has served as a platform for deliberation and proliferation of ideas as well as encourage and recognize young workers in the field of micropalaeontology and stratigraphy. Half a century since then, 27 colloquia have been successfully convened, and has been popular amongst scientists and students alike as true it is for industry and academia alike. We are elated to have the opportunity to host the next i.e. the 28th ICMS-2021 at Savitribai Phule Pune University!

The tenth ICMS was convened by Dr. R.M. Badve at MACS Pune in December 1982. It has been almost 40 years since then that Pune has witnessed such a gathering in micropalaeontology and stratigraphy, that is capable of inspiring many young post-graduate students. Pune has contributed several illustrious palaeontologists to the history of palaeontology of India, namely Dr. G.W. Chiploonkar, Dr. M.A Ghare, Dr. G.L. Badam, Dr. P.S. Mahabale, Dr. R.M. Badve, Dr. V.G. Phansalkar, Dr. V.D. Borkar and many in the younger generations working in the different organizations all over the country today.

We genuinely believe organizing the 28th ICMS at SPPU would offer a great boost to the new generation of geologists / palaeontologists of Pune and surrounding regions. It would also expose them to the recent advancements in the field of micropalaeontology & stratigraphy and inspire/encourage them to venture in related fields. We look forward to continue with the legacy of serving the cause of exchange and dissemination of new scientific knowledge as well as opportunities and offer a platform to young researchers and students all over the country to interact with established and distinguished scientists.


Apart from being known as an academic and IT hub, Pune is blessed with pleasant climate all-round the year. Pune lies on the western margin of the Deccan plateau, at an altitude of 560 m above sea level. It is on the leeward side of the Sahyadri mountain range, which forms a barrier from the Arabian Sea. As the city is also drained by several rivers, it’s an ideal site for exploring Quaternary sedimentary records. This geological setting is of great interest to geologists, palaeontologists, and tourists alike. Pune has also played a strategic role in the development of the Maratha Kingdom and preserves records of history from 9th Century CE to present.

When in Pune, there is no shortage of things to do. From history, spiritualism and adventurous activities, to thriving nightlife, shopping, mouth-watering food trail, and great sightseeing, Pune has a host of options to keep you occupied. Pune has bagged the title of India’s most liveable city in India for 2018, as per the Ease of Living Index 2018, released by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA). This is just the place where you can get a glimpse of developing new India, where the old blends with new, and tradition blends with modernity almost seamlessly.

To top the merits, Pune is centrally located and well connected to every part of the country by road, rail and air and getting here is comparatively easy, comfortable and fast. Even local travel within Pune is easy, economical and safe given the well-knit communication network supported by autorickshaws and Ola-Uber cab services.

Theme of the colloquium

The colloquium at SPPU Pune will primarily focus on advancements in the understanding of age-old proxies and refinement in the applicability and introduction to new fossil groups and / or their potentials, but will not remain confined to these boundaries.

“Proxy development for decoding past and modern environments”

  1. Proxy development (new microfossil groups, biomarkers, geochemical attributes)
  2. Palaeoclimate, Palaeoceanography and Biogeochemistry
  3. Environmental Monitoring and Resource Mapping
  4. Forgotten / Lesser known groups (ichnology, bryozoan, sponge spicules, testate amoebae, coral sclerites, etc.)
  5. Culture studies & Experimental, Molecular and Evolutionary micropalaeontology
  6. Modelling, GCMs & Simulation using micropalaeontological data
  7. Micropalaeontology in Archaeology & Geochronology
  8. Extinctions and Event Boundaries
  9. Industrial Applications of Micropalaeontology and Stratigraphy
  10. Micropalaeontology in the resolution of stratigraphic problems
  11. Refinement in taxonomical and phylogenetic studies
  12. Taphonomy & Diagenetic effects on preservation
  13. Astrobiology
  14. Other themes, not listed above

Important Dates

Abstract Submissions starts: 15th April 2021

Abstract Submissions closes : 31st July 2021

Colloquium dates : 16th to 18th November 2021

We look forward to your active participation in the XXVIII colloquium at SPPU Pune to make it a vibrant and enriching experience. Final announcements regarding the scientific programme, details of abstract submission, registration and accommodation will follow soon.

We wish all the uncertainties and gloom due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic are vanquished soon and hope that we all shall meet at the forthcoming ICMS with optimism and newfound energy.

Rethinking the feminist subject: Sexuality and Gender

Rethinking the feminist subject: Caste and Gender

Nation-State and Feminist Understanding: Rethinking Democracy, Equality and Sovereignty

Mapping new ways and forms of organising / articulating the woman question

Prof. N.R. Karmalkar

Vice Chancellor,
Savitribai Phule Pune University
Chief Patron, XXVIII ICMS

Dr. Suresh Gosavi

Department of Environmental Science

Dr. Rajani Panchang

Assistant Professor,
Department of Environmental Science


How to Register:

  1. It is mandatory for all delegates to register themselves on the SPPU portal.
  2. Registration on the portal helps you generate a login ID and password which is needed to register for 28th ICMS Pune or any other future conferences & workshops conducted by SPPU.
  3. For stepwise guide for conference registration kindly refer to attached user manual.

Registration Fees: (The registration fees include registration kit, breakfast, lunch, dinner and tea breaks)

  1. Student delegate - Rs.2000/-
  2. Industry/Academic delegate - Rs.4500/-
  3. For each accompanying person Rs.1500/-

Late Registration: Registrations done after 31st July will attract an additional late fee of Rs.500/-

Mode of payment: Online payment by debit card, credit card, net banking and UPI

Steps For Registration :

  1. Register now
  2. Log-in to submit abstract and pay registration fees

Register now    Login

Organizing Committee

Contact Us


Department of Environmental Science, Savitribai Phule Pune University, Ganeshkhind, Pune 411007

Phone Number

Dr. Rajani Panchang

+91 9552759452